The Small Print Project                                       

Is This Blog Hosted By a Porn-Censoring Provider?

Sex and SexualityI really appreciate this submission from Markus. The Small Print Project is hosted by Bluehost and I have nothing but good things to say about their service, which I’ve used since early this year to host my blog among other site.

Considering their price, 24-hour service and huge capacity and transfer allowance, how could one go wrong?

By getting too sexy, apparently.

————

Hoster www.bluehost.com has the following terms of service:http://www.bluehost.com/terms_of_service.html

Have a look at line #2.
No pornographic, adult content, anything related to human sexuality, or links
to such material allowed.

Upon request their staff told me that it’s only about adult sites and pornographic
material (which is hard enough to draw the line at … http://mattheaton.com/?p=58 ..
this is their CEOs blog about it), but the letters sayeth otherwise. Not that they did,
but they could.

Mind you, they’re a great hoster, but it’s a typical example of ToS going wild
with the best of services.

And, hey, I get a little kickback (which inevitably goes towards my Everest of student loans) if you hook yourself with $7/mo. hosting from Bluehost via this button:

Keep ‘em coming: asternbe[at]usc[dot]edu | fill-in-blank

Comments

  1. Kat
    November 2nd, 2006 | 12:04 pm

    Wow, I use Bluehost too and I didn’t know that.

  2. November 2nd, 2006 | 6:18 pm

    DreamHost FTW!
    http://www.dreamhost.com/r.cgi?240786

    Sorry for the shameless promotion, but DreamHost has a pretty permissable ToS agreement.

    Although in my experience most shared hosting environments are similar… they all go down sometimes, they’re all slow sometimes, and they’re all ridiculously cheap! :)

  3. March 12th, 2008 | 12:09 pm

    So what is going on with this?

    “Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!”

    http://www.crazypenguin.us/bh/badware.png

  4. March 12th, 2008 | 12:19 pm

    http://www.stopbadware.org/reports/container?reportname=http://smallprint.netzoo.net/is-this-blog-hosted-by-a-porn-censoring-provider/

    Google has found that some portion of smallprint.netzoo.net/ contains or links to badware or otherwise violates Google’s software guidelines.

  5. Andy Sternberg
    March 20th, 2008 | 6:35 am

    Thanks, Crazy Penguin — I’ve continued to clear this problem but apparently can’t pinpoint it as it continues to recur. If anyone can help me locate the bug/badware/spam that infiltrated this site so I can eradicate it once and for all it would be much appreciated!

  6. kev
    March 20th, 2008 | 9:06 pm

    I have an idea why. will get back to you after I check with a few folks.

Leave a reply